10
Oct
07

Don’t get on Richard Sandomir’s bad side

Chip CarayWhat’s happening people?

It feels good to be posting again, sorry for the long time off…life is getting a little crazy.

Well, in case you missed it, the Cubs did not win the World Series. Soooo, if you had your money on Chicago, apologies.

But, that has led us to some other “great” “baseball” “news” — Chip Caray sucks at broadcasting.

This was brought to light by New York Times resident Debbie Downer, Richard Sandomir.

Sandomir always has some problem about how individuals in sports media go about their jobs. Personally, I would never condone such dissent.

However, I wanted to post this yesterday (simply as information, mind you), but my friends over at We are the Postmen handled it nicely (and more quickly).

So I figured the issue was dead.

Not so.

Today, Sandomir used his column to give Suzyn Waldman a pass for crying after a Yankees’ broadcast the other night. (Note to aspiring sports journalists…She’s known them a long time, so it’s OK)  Sandomir managed to stay focused on Waldman for approximately 8 paragraphs. Here’s his actual transition back into ripping Caray:

To me, it is worse to be a clueless announcer than one who is emotional in a sport where crying is prohibited by the cinematic manager Tom Hanks. But Torre cries, so maybe it’s good for all of us to get out our hankies. Chip Caray of TBS can set aside the hanky for a copy of a Manhattan map, access to MLB.com and a Yankees media guide.

See how he did that, he just slipped it in there. You didn’t even notice. (That’s why I’m here, don’t mention it)

The next sentence is as follows:

I won’t go on at length about Caray’s miscues during the Yankees-Indians division series as I did yesterday.

There are then about 8 consecutive paragraphs on how Caray screwed up and TBS could fix their broadcasting for the next series.

Here’s my question? Does this honestly deserve two columns in the New York Times? Has Sandomir ever watched a baseball game on TV? Ever heard Joe Morgan perhaps?…He makes up shit all the time. Half the time, he doesn’t even know where the guys on the field played before coming to their current teams.

And what is the moral of this column? It’s OK to be biased, but not to have your facts wrong? That’s great advice to give the media these days, since we know how objective our sporting networks are.

You’re better than that NYT. Even if Sandomir isn’t.

3 Responses to “Don’t get on Richard Sandomir’s bad side”


  1. October 15, 2007 at 7:35 am

    Slow news day, perhaps?

  2. May 7, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Helo, my name is Renata and I am brazilian! I study journalism in an university in Brazil. My english is not very good, so I’m sorry if I write wrong some words. Well, I have to do a homework and I need to make interviews with some journalists. I am trying to contact some americans journalists, my part is sports. I am trying to contact Richard Sandomir, I don’t know who is this site’s owner, I was searching on google, and I ended here! I read the interwiew about Richard Sandomir, and I decided to try! Please, can you help me to contact Richard Sandomir? I need to do some question to him. In the truth, we have only to interview brazilians journalists, but I want to be different!! =)

    thank you!

  3. 3 Jeff
    September 19, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Sandomir is a piece of crap. His latest ditty was to write over-and-over again how Jews hate Allianz. Hey Richard, we get it, there was a Holocaust, it was bad, people died. Hey, it has happened before dumbshit. Sandomir is a moron.


Leave a Reply

