21
Aug
07

In case you missed it, Ichiro might be crazy and/or hilarious

Ichiro SuzukiGoing to a different country to do your job must be terribly difficult.

Especially if your job is being a professional baseball player, where your every move is scrutinized by the press.

***Disclaimer over***

Ichiro Suzuki (seen here in pink) has some of the best and most quotable quotes in all of baseball (even though most of the time he might not actually be aware of what he’s saying).

Slate has detailed the bizarre musings, claiming that the player may just be telling the press exactly how he feels, something players don’t have to do in Japan and refuse to do in America.

Among the gems featured in the article:

When Ichiro held a press conference earlier this month to discuss the deal, he divulged that a key advisory role in deciding to remain in Seattle was played by his dog Ikky. “He said, ‘Woof, woof, woof,’ which meant, ‘Stay, stay, stay,’ ” Suzuki told reporters in Japanese. “Of course, I listened.

Funny, I thought “woof, woof, woof” meant “I’m hungry” or “I ate up your favorite couch and peed on your autographed Bob Dylan’s Greatest Hits LP.”

Go ooooonnnnnnn.

Asked recently about a road trip to Cleveland, he admitted: “To tell the truth, I’m not excited to go to Cleveland, but we have to. If I ever saw myself saying I’m excited going to Cleveland, I’d punch myself in the face, because I’m lying.

And on the world of golf and Tiger Woods:

Tiger is a great golfer, but … when you say athlete, I think of Carl Lewis. When you talk about [golfers or race-car drivers], I don’t want to see them run. It’s the same if you were to meet a beautiful girl and go bowling. If she’s an ugly bowler, you are going to be disappointed.

Funny, every time I’ve brought home an ugly bowler home, I’ve been disappointed.

Ichiro: Crazy, or genius?

0 Responses to “In case you missed it, Ichiro might be crazy and/or hilarious”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

